Utah Composites Laboratory

The University of Utah

Leadership:

Dr. Michael Czabaj

Assistant Professor

Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

University of Utah

2571 MEK Building

m.czabaj@utah.edu

(801) 585-6226

Dr. Daniel Adams

Professor

Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

University of Utah

2580 MEK Building

adams@mech.utah.edu

(801) 585-9807

Jeff Kessler

Mechanical Engineer/Lab Manager

Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

University of Utah

1176 MEB Building

jkessler@mech.utah.edu

(801) 581-4252

Current students:

Caitlin Arndt

Ph.D. student

c.arndt@utah.edu

Research Area: Micromechanical investigation of transverse failure of FRP composites

Sponsor: NASA Langley Research Center

Clay Audd

M.S. student

clayaudd@gmail.com

Research Area: Characterization of mode III fracture toughness of tape-laminate composites

Sponsor: The University of Utah

Peter Creveling

Ph.D. student

creveling.peter@gmail.com

Research Area: Microscale imaging and analysis of as-measured ceramic matrix composites

Sponsor: The University of Utah, Air Force Research Laboratory, Department of Energy

Tim Francis

M.S. student

TimothyFrancis@yahoo.com

Research Area: Crashworthiness assessment of composite structures

Sponsor: The University of Utah

Jordan French

Ph.D. student

j.french@utah.edu

Research Area: 3D imaging of damage in biaxially loaded composites at cryogenic temperatures using a novel micro-CT experiment

Sponsor: NASA NSTRF

Jason Hamburg

Ph.D. student

jason_hamburg@yahoo.com

Research Area: Damage tolerance and progressive damage modeling of biaxially-loaded composites

Sponsor: The University of Utah

Sungwon Kim

Ph.D. student

Sungwon.Kim@utah.edu

Research Area: Acoustic emission-based damage classification for large composite structures

Sponsor: NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

Brad Kuramoto

Ph.D. student

bradley.kuramoto@gmail.com

Research Area: Notch sensitivity and damage tolerance of composite sandwich structures

Sponsor: Federal Aviation Administration

Heather McCartin

M.S. student

h.mccartin@utah.edu

Research Area: Environmental durability assessment of composite bonded joints

Sponsor: Federal Aviation Administration

Mark Perl

Ph.D. student

mperlfam@gmail.com

Research Area: Crashworthiness assessment of composite structures

Sponsor: Federal Aviation Administration, University of Utah

Marcus Stanfield

Ph.D. student

marcus.i.stanfield@gmail.com

Research Area: Notch sensitivity and damage tolerance of composite sandwich structures

Sponsor: Federal Aviation Administration

Larry Stanley

Ph.D. student

Larry.Stanley@OrbitalATK.com

Research Area: Damage progression and failure of composite scarf joints and scarf joint repairs

Sponsor: University of Utah

Sam Whitaker

Ph.D. student

sam.j.whitaker@gmail.com

Research Area: Damping of composite structures using discrete embedded viscoelastic material

Sponsor: Naval Surface Warfare Center

Devin Young

Ph.D. student

devin.j.young@utah.edu

Research Area: Mechanical characterization of 3D printed CNT-reinforced composites

Sponsor: NASA Langley Research Center

2018 Michael Czabaj (m.czabaj@utah.edu)

Department of Mechanical Engineering